Foundations in Studio Art and Still Lifes

Emma Teaches Art!

My hope this semester is that I will expose my 9th grade students to as many new art materials as possible, while making connections to real careers in the art world. I also want them to find their own strengths and interests as young artists. As I told all of my parents recently at back to school night: We will be starting out very traditional, creating a still life painting on canvas, and then, from there, continue to add more and more real world applications for art. Before I go off on a tangent about what I have planned for the semester I would like to just start with our still lifes.

Each Freshman art student has just finished the first of 7 projects to come. They are amazing, and they took a total of 6.7 hours each. We have 80 minute class periods, and we worked on them for…

View original post 80 more words

Share your ideas, favorite sites, or favorite art related technology here.

